France, Slovenia and Slovakia qualify for Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2015

  • European Curling Championships C-Division 2015 © Ruxi Balea

France and Slovakia women and Slovenia and Slovakia men have qualified for Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2015 B-Division, which will take place in Esbjerg, Denmark next month.

All teams qualified today (17 October) at the conclusion of the European Curling Championships C-Division in Champéry, Switzerland. This event began last Monday (11 October), with eight women’s teams and 11 men’s teams competing for the four qualification places.

Scores from the week can be seen here,

France women and Slovenia men qualified first and took home Gold medals, after winning their 1v2 games, this morning.

France defeated Slovakia 6-4, despite having a point stolen from them in the first end. However, taking two points in the fifth and seventh ends and stealing one point in the eighth, helped them secure the win.

Slovenia took points in the first four ends to build a 5-0 lead at the fourth end break. Slovakia then took a point in the fifth end, before Slovenia scored three in the sixth and final end.

This afternoon, both matches were extremely close and after six ends were both locked at five-all. Slovakia’s men’s team finished first taking a single point in each of the last three ends, which saw the nail-biting game conclude 7-5. The Slovakia women’s game went to an extra end and ended 7-6. These teams won Silver.

Ireland women and France men took home Bronze medals.

The 2015 B-Division takes place in Esbjerg Curling Club, in Esbjerg, Denmark between 20-28 November. At the same time, in the Granly Hockey Arena, which is in the same complex, the A-Division will be played.

 ECC-C 2015 Results Book Women
 ECC-C 2015 Results Book Men
Some files may require programs or viewers to open or view the download: Acrobat Reader