European C-Division 2015 set for action in Champéry, Switzerland

  • Champéry also hosted the Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2014 Photo: WCF / FlanneryAllison

The 2015 European Curling Championship C-Division event gets underway at the Palladium de Champéry in Switzerland on Monday (12 October).

19 teams from 12 countries will be vying for four places at the Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2015 next month (20-28 November) in Esbjerg, Denmark when they take to the ice. 11 men’s teams and eight women’s teams will contend for the four qualification – two men’s and two women’s – spots available in the B-Division.

Results and statistics from the European Curling Championship C-Division 2015 can be seen here throughout the week:

The 11 men’s teams are: Andorra, Belarus, Bulgaria, France, Ireland, Iceland, Luxembourg, Romania, Slovenia, Serbia and Slovakia.

The eight women’s teams are: Belarus, Croatia, France, Ireland, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia and Spain.

The last edition of this event was held in Zoetermeer, Netherlands in 2014. The teams that qualified then were Belgium and Israel from the men’s championship and Netherlands and Slovakia in the women’s event. All but Slovakia women have retained their place in the B-Division for 2015, therefore at least three different countries are guaranteed to qualify this year.

Round robin play will run for five days from Monday 12 October through to Friday 16 October. This will be followed by a tiebreaker session, if necessary and then a set of medal matches on Saturday (17 October).

Following the round robin the top four teams in each of the men’s and women’s events will be ranked. The first placed team will play the second placed team at 10.00 (Central European Time) to determine who qualifies first for the B-Division and wins the Gold medal.

The team who finishes in third place will play the fourth placed team, also at 10.00 (CET). Subsequently, the loser of the game between one and two and the winner of the game between three and four will play each other at 15.00 (CET) to decide who wins the second qualification place and the Silver and Bronze medals. This format applies to the men’s and the women’s championships.

This will be the last time this championship will take place at this time of year. At the World Curling Federation’s Annual General Assembly in Belgrade, Serbia last month (September 2015) it was decided that the European Curling Championships C-Division 2016 will be played in April to give more time for the teams who qualify for the B-Division to prepare. Dates and a venue for 2016 will be announced in due course.

Further championships will be held in Switzerland this season, when Lucerne host the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2016 (21-28 February) and Basel stage the World Men’s Curling Championship 2016 between 2 and 10 April. Further details can be found here: