C-Division round-robin draws to a close

  • Denmark finish round-robin undefeated Photo © WCF / Tom Rowland

Denmark, Belarus, Ireland and Bulgaria and Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Austria women have qualified for the European Curling Championships 2018 C-Division play-offs at the conclusion of the round-robin on Sunday (15 April) in Taarnby, Denmark.

These teams all have a chance to qualify for the Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships 2018 B-Division being held in Tallinn, Estonia in November.

On the women’s side, Poland and Slovakia will play for the gold medals and the first spot in the B-Division after Poland completed their round-robin campaign undefeated and Slovakia finished second with a record of six wins and one loss.

The loser of this game will move on to play the winner of Slovenia and Austria who finished in third and fourth place respectively with four wins and three losses. This game will decide the silver and bronze medals and the final remaining place in the B-Division.

In the men’s competition, undefeated Denmark and Belarus (5-2) will play for the gold medals and the first B-Division spot, while Ireland and Bulgaria – both with 4-3 records – will play in the 3v4 game.

The gold medal and 3v4 games will take place on Monday (16 April) at 09:00 Central European Time (CET) and they will be followed by the games for the final remaining B-Division place at 14:30 CET that afternoon.

Live scores from the championships can be followed at www.worldcurling.org/ecc2018/livescores

To engage with the World Curling Federation on social media in the build to the European Curling Championships C-Division 2018 and across it’s A and B-Division events follow it on Twitter, Instagram (@worldcurling) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation) and use the hashtags when posting: #ECC2018 #curling