Japan women win Gold at Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2015

  • Japan skip Satsuki Fujisawa celebrates with her team Photo: WCF / Alina Pavlyuchik

Japan beat Korea by 8-7 to take the women's title at the Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2015 in the Baluan Sholak Sports Palace, Almaty, Kazakhstan on Saturday (14 November) afternoon.

Japan – skip Satsuki Fujisawa, third Chinami Yoshida, second player Yumi Suzuki, and lead Yurika Yoshida, supported by alternate Kotomi Ishizaki and coach Ryoji Onodera – took the early lead in the final, but a score of three points in the fourth end by Korea brought them level at 4-4.

A single point steal in the ninth end gave Japan an 8-6 lead and when Korea could only score one point in the tenth, Japan claimed their first women's title, and Gold Medals, since 2005. Both finalist teams have now qualified their countries for the Ford Women's Curling Championship in Swift Current, Canada next (19-27) March.

In the Bronze Medal game, China had a one-sided 16-0 victory over Kazakhstan, who had already made history by qualifying for the knock-out stage of the Championship for the first time.

China, who were defending the title, had the consolation of knowing that their third place means that they are now entitled to take part in the 2017 Olympic Qualification Event, when the final two places in the 2018 Pyeongchang Olympic Winter Games line-up will be decided.

They Said It:

Satsuki Fujisawa: skip, Japan (after 8-7 final win over Korea):

"This is my first time to win this title, so this is a very big win – for me, and for Japanese women's curling. They got a three at the fourth end and we were worried then, but we stayed strong as a team. At the end we were almost out of time, so we were more nervous about that than about the game."

RESULTS, Session 13:


Japan 8-7 Korea (Gold Medal game); Kazakhstan 0-16 China (Bronze Medal game)

STANDINGS after 13 Session (W - L):


Japan 8-2: Gold
Korea 7-3: Silver
China 6-3: Bronze
Kazakhstan 2-8
New Zealand 1-8


Korea 8-1: Gold
Japan 7-2: Silver
China 7-2: Bronze
New Zealand 4-6
Australia 3-5
Chinese Taipei 3-4
Kazakhstan 1-6
Hong Kong 0-7