European Curling Championships C-Division heads to Brasov, Romania

  • Ireland skip Allison Fyfe © WCF / Richard Gray

While the 2018-2019 curling season is winding down for most curlers, the teams looking to book their spots in next season’s European B-Division are gearing up. The European Curling Championships C-Division 2019 will begin on Friday (12 April) for teams looking to be promoted to the European Curling Championships B-Division. The event will be hosted at the Olympic Ice Rink in Brasov, Romania.

Eight women’s and ten men’s teams will be competing for two places in each of the women’s and men’s European Curling Championships B-Division 2019, which will be held in Helsingborg, Sweden from 15-23 November.

The eight women’s teams are: Austria, Belarus, Croatia, France, Ireland, Romania, Slovenia and Slovakia.

The ten men’s teams are: Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Greece, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Romania and Slovenia.

Round-robin play will run from Friday 12 April until Tuesday 16 April. After the round-robin the top-four teams on the women’s and men’s side will progress to the play-offs.

The top two teams – ranked one and two – will then play each other at 09.00 (Eastern European Time) in the gold medal games on Wednesday 17 April. The winners of these games will claim the first places in the European Curling Championships B-Division. Also, at this time the teams ranked third and fourth will play each other.

The winners of the 3v4 games and the losers of the gold medal games will then play in silver medal finals at 14.30 the same day. This will decide the second women’s and men’s teams to qualify for the European Curling Championships B-Division.

Live scores from these championships can be found at

To engage with the World Curling Federation on social media in the build up to the Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships 2019 follow it on Twitter, Instagram (@WorldCurling) and Facebook (@WorldCurlingFederation) and use the hashtags when posting: #ECC2019 #curling